AMENDMENT TO RULES COMMITTEE PRINT 118– 10

OFFERED BY MR. WILSON OF SOUTH CAROLINA

At the end of subtitle A of title XVIII, insert the following:

1 SEC. ____. DETERMINATION OF SANCTIONS FOR HONG 2 KONG OFFICIALS ENGAGED IN POLITICAL 3 PERSECUTION.

4 (a) IN GENERAL.—Not later than 90 days of enact5 ment of this Act, the Secretary of State, in consultation
6 with the Secretary of the Treasury, shall submit to the
7 appropriate congressional committees a determination on
8 whether reasonable grounds exist for concluding that each
9 person described in subsection (b)—

(1) has engaged in any of the conduct described
in the Hong Kong Autonomy Act (Public Law 116–
149; 22 U.S.C. 5701 note), Hong Kong Human
Rights and Democracy Act (Public Law 116–76; 22
U.S.C. 5701 note), or Executive Order 13936 (85
Fed. Reg. 43413; 22 U.S.C. 5701 note); and
(2) otherwise meets criteria for imposition of

17 sanctions under these authorities.

2

1	(b) PERSONS DESCRIBED.—The persons described in
2	this section are the following:
3	(1) Secretary of Justice of the Hong Kong Spe-
4	cial Autonomous Region, Paul Lam Ting-kwok.
5	(2) Deputy Secretary for Justice of the Hong
6	Kong Special Autonomous Region, Horace Cheung
7	Kwok-kwan.
8	(3) The prosecutors of the Hong Kong Special
9	Autonomous Region:
10	(A) Maggie Yang Mei Kei.
11	(B) Anthony Chau Tin Hang.
12	(C) Laura Ng Shuk Kuen.
13	(D) William Siu Kai Yip.
14	(E) Andy Lo Tin Wai.
15	(F) Ivan Cheung Cheuk Kan.
16	(G) Alice Chan Shook Man.
17	(H) Crystal Chan Wing Sum.
18	(I) Cherry Chong Man Yan.
19	(J) Derek Lai Kim Wah.
20	(K) Wilson Lam Yi Yeung.
21	(L) Edward Lau Wan Cheung.
22	(M) Vincent Lee Ting Wai.
23	(N) Karen Ng Ka Yuet.
24	(O) Jennifer Tsui Sin Chi.
25	(P) Jonathon Man Dak Ho.

3

(4) Other officials of the Hong Kong Special
 Administrative Region Government that the Sec retary of State, in consultation with the Secretary of
 the Treasury, determines engages or has engaged in
 the conduct described in subsection (a).

6 (c) APPROPRIATE CONGRESSIONAL COMMITTEES DE7 FINED.—In this section, the term "appropriate congres8 sional committees" means—

9 (1) the Committee on Foreign Relations, the 10 Committee on Armed Services, the Committee on 11 Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs, the Com-12 mittee on Homeland Security and Governmental Af-13 fairs, and the Committee on the Judiciary of the 14 Senate; and

(2) the Committee on Foreign Affairs, the
Committee on Armed Services, the Committee on Financial Services, the Committee on Homeland Security, and the Committee on the Judiciary of the
House of Representatives.

\times